Honorary Alumnus Award

The selection will be made from candidates who have provided a distinctive contribution to the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources on a state, national or international level; have relieved the suffering of disadvantaged people; or contributed to any unique program that benefits humankind.

Past Recipients

  • 2020: Troy Bancroft
  • 2019: Carol Fosburg
  • 2018: Douglas D. Buhler
  • 2017: Ken Nobis
  • 2015: Nancy Thelen
  • 2013: Chuck Ross
  • 2012: Captain Dennis L. Grinold
  • 2010: Angelo Oricchio
  • 2009: Bill Demmer
  • 2008: Margaret "Maggie" Bethel and George Good
  • 2007: Richard Foster
  • 2006: David Morris
  • 2005: Raleigh Barlowe
  • 2004: Bob Perrin
  • 2003: Van Snider
  • 2002: Pauline Glassbrook
  • 2001: Gundel Tora Gunilla Jönson
  • 2000: John Culter
  • 1999: J. Ian Gray
  • 1998: Keith Creagh
  • 1997: Vincent Hegarty
  • 1996: Robert G. Gast
  • 1995: M. Peter McPherson
  • 1994: Fred L. Poston
  • 1993: Marylee Davis
  • 1992: George Ashby Green
  • 1991: Bill Schuette
  • 1990: Gordon LaFontaine
  • 1989: Malcolm Trout
  • 1988: John DiBiaggio
  • 1987: Gordon Guyer
  • 1986: Elwood Kirkpatrick
  • 1985: John A. Anderson
  • 1984: Robert Driscoll
  • 1983: Sylvan Wittwer
  • 1982: Pauline Carr
  • 1981: Larry Boger
  • 1980: James Anderson
  • 1979: Dean Pridgeon
  • 1978: Edgar Harden
  • 1977: William Milliken
  • 1976: John Hannah


Award candidates may be nominated by departments, administrators, CANR alumni board members, faculty, alumni and industry stakeholders. Nominations are due Oct. 15, 2019. 

Submit an online nomination

Download a nomination form to submit

Selection criteria

  • The awards committee is looking for recipients based on their commitment to the Land Grant mission of teaching, research and outreach activities.
  • Professional, community and MSU service will also be considered in the selection process for all awards.
  • Nominees for each of the six CANRAA awards will be considered for three subsequent years. If not selected in the first year, those submitting a nomination will be given the opportunity to update the nomination form before consideration the second and third year. If a nominee is not selected within the three years, they will be removed from the nomination pool, but could be nominated again at a later time.
  • Current faculty members should be nominated for the Distinguished Faculty Award. It is preferred that faculty not be nominated for the other awards. A nomination of a faculty member will not be refused, however, preference will be made to non‑faculty members.
  • Alumni association board members cannot be nominated while they are serving on the board.
  • Letters of recommendation are important in the selection process. We should suggest that nominators submit a maximum of four letters of support for the nomination. These letters should come from people who can support the nominees activities in the various areas including MSU service, their career and their community service.
  • The awards selection committee structure will consist of CANRAA board members and one CANR faculty or staff representative appointed by the Dean’s office.


Please contact Kathryn Reed at 517-355-0284 or via e-mail at kreed@msu.edu